Waiting There For You – A Poem By Dana Thake

The grass is greener

 

Dana is a young CHDC supporter who helps one of our Directors on her farm.     Dana has done her research on horse slaughter,  and her sensitivity to this issue is evident – one day, these words flowed out of her heart and directly onto a piece of paper:

Waiting There For You

It seems as if so long ago I stood in fields of green;

I stood there waiting for you, my one life’s destiny;

Our eyes met in that moment, it was always meant to be;

You would be my person and I your noble steed.

Remember how we’d frolicked, in the meadow the whole day;

Returning to the barn yard for carrots and soft sweet hay;

Going to the fairgrounds, winning ribbons in the show;

Grooming me for hours, our hearts where both aglow.

Hacking through the pasture; I could swear we touched the sky;

Picnics by the water as ducks went floating by;

Days turned into months and months soon passed to years;

Growing up together sharing joys and laughs and tears.

You my friend are leaving; you say you’re off to school;

You promise you will visit, why is this life so cruel;

My days are at the fence line, my eyes are on the drive;

I wait for you to come home, time seems to barely just tick by.

The seasons keep on changing as they always do;

But here I will stand waiting just like I promised I would do;

My mane no longer shining, my back is low and swayed;

My hooves are old and cracking, a far cry from glory days.

They came and got me from my paddock, I don’t know them but I’ll go;

Perhaps you sent them for me, are we headed to the show;

I don’t like this, something is wrong here, I smell pain and I smell fear;

The lights are far too bright, what’s this number doing here?

There’s too much going on, let me go, this isn’t right;

My person would not want this; they beat me when I fight;

Where’s my person, where’s my pasture, what did I do wrong;

This trailer is packed solid, and this ride is far too long.

What’s this building, what’s that smell, whose blood is on the floor;

Tell me this isn’t happening, this isn’t what I’m destined for;

As the bolt leaves from its chamber, and my time on earth is through;

I leave my earth bound body, my spirit born anew.

And although you won’t understand it, as humans rarely do;

I will be waiting at the fence line. I’ll be waiting there for you.

Dana Thake

 

9 comments

  1. Mary Croft · ·

    So poignant…I want to cry.

  2. Beautifully done, well said Dana!

  3. Jennifer Canfield · ·

    This wonderful girl has exemplified compassion because she has written the horse’s viewpoint. She has so touchingly spoken from the horse’s perspective. God bless her for being this sensitive. Bravo!

  4. Mrs. H.B. Willis · ·

    This is often the case for so many horses. When will people realize that they OWE faithful horses a home for life or a painless death at home and not a trip to the slaughterhouse?

  5. :’0( so sad but all too often the truth how our animals are forgotten 😪

  6. Coreen Bradley · ·

    How moving! No matter what happens to me I have shared my wishes with my children in the event my horses can no longer be cared for in my absence and slaughter is not an option! The sad fact is people keep breeding and not understanding that these beautiful, kind creatures live a long life. Comforting to some, not realized by many. Stop breeding! Like every other animal mill it is unnecessary as there are many who need homes for many years yet. They don’t deserve to be treated this way and they were never meant to be in our food chain. We have enough meat that most people have no idea where it came from in the first place. We are not starving here in North America by any means. This is a scapegoat answer and it breaks my heart and in fact makes me a little angry when I hear my friends who are horse people say the words “its better than letting them starve.” Really? How about taking some responsibility for what you have taken charge of caring for. I run a program that gives horses that, for whatever reason, can no longer please their humans and I give them a second (third, fourth or fifth in some cases) chance to have a home and offer their amazing abilities in a way that only requires their natural horse sense. Unfortunately, there are more horses needing a home than I can properly care for, but I continue to help find new homes with people I think will offer a life-long commitment to that horse. And it should be remembered that horses are social animals that thrive in stable herds; moving them from herd to herd or leaving them alone in a pasture is stressful and causes health issues for that horse. Think about their needs before jumping into a new but potentially short relationship if you don’t know what you are in for.

    1. Jennifer Canfield · ·

      This is truly the only sensible answer to slaughter: People taking responsibility for the horses they bring into the world, or having the mental metal to stop breeding. Do away with the supply and eliminate demand. Too many horses are unwanted and neglected right now, enough to last years as you say. I was a small breeder and raised QH’s up to 10 yrs ago when I became aware of the problem. Now I look back and am ashamed I didn’t see it sooner. I now try to re-home horses while keeping my remaining very close and here for the rest of their lives.

  7. Glenda Steinley · ·

    This poem captured what I believe are the thoughts and unfortunately the fate of so many horses. I am the caregiver to many of my daughter’s old show horses and as the poem outlines, the sad truth. I so pray that none of our horses (and there are many) will ever be loaded, sold via auction or be slaughtered despite all being given banned drugs . I pray daily that God will continue to give me health and financial means to care for them till the end of their days and in the meantime, may they enjoy the quieter life with me. There is no travel or retirement luxuries for me as I am fully responsible to ensuring sufficient funds are available for my family to continue the care of our horses if I am unable. A life time commitment.

    1. Jennifer Canfield · ·

      Glenda, You could have written this for me. Thanks.

