Rising farmland prices threaten southern Ontario Amish settlements

KATE DUBINSKI | QMI AGENCY

_Amish-_2106878b

Photographer unkown

LONDON, Ontario – Amish buggies could soon be a thing of the past on rural Southwestern Ontario roads, with skyrocketing farm prices pushing expanding families to look elsewhere to settle.

Two families from the conservative religious group in a settlement near Stratford, Ont., went to Prince Edward Island last week to check out farmland on the east coast, where land is 10 times cheaper than here.

“It’s night and day. Land prices here are $15,000 to $20,000 an acre. That’s unaffordable for a mixed-use farm operation,” said Tony Wallbank, the Princeton, Ont. man who drove the two families to P.E.I.

In P.E.I., farmland goes $1,500 to $2,500 an acre, he said.

Please continue reading here.

5 comments

  1. judye822 · ·

    I don’t know about Canada but here in America, generally the Amish are the worst abusers of all animals…. Is it the same up there??? Puppy mills, starving then bringing their horses to slaughter sales, horrendous handling, etc., etc……

    Sent from my iPad

    1. Yep.

  2. Funny how the Amish/Mennonites shun our ways but are very happy to take our money. Hmmm.

    1. halchkakonie5113 · ·

      I tend to agree with you Loni; will even go one step further. As an animal advocate, educator, donor & rescuer…I will just say that the Amish are not my favorite people.

      1. Heather · ·

        I agree with you about the Amish being the worst abusers.

