Restaurateurs respond to horse meat’s ‘neigh-sayers’

Horse tenderloin served rare with truffled chanterelle oat risotto and vegetables.
 

Horse tenderloin served rare with truffled chanterelle oat risotto and vegetables.

Photograph by: Handout , La Palette restaurant in Toronto

Ontario restaurateurs and horse meat enthusiasts say banishing cheval from the menu rejects the cultural roots of the dish and the “science” about horse meat that deems it safe for human consumption.

 A few restaurant owners are speaking out about what they say is an unfair attack by animal-rights activists and an NDP MP’s bill seeking to ban the import and export of horse meat.

Read more: http://www.canada.com/health/Restaurateurs+respond+horse+meat+neigh+sayers/6436854/story.html#ixzz1rjr87C14

Here’s another article:

http://news.nationalpost.com/2012/04/10/horse-meat-debate-trots-to-parliament/

 

13 comments

  1. Deborah · ·

    Like I said previously if you want cultural dishes get on a plane and go and stay. also show me the research. Are depending on the CFIA for an honest answer. they wouldn’t say shit if there mouth was full of it.

  2. I can’t even look at that picture as I think it was once some childs pony and I think of how it suffered in its last place of residence so to speak.

  3. People who eat horse meat need to read different horse magazines & take a GOOD look at all the products & medicines that are sold for horses & administered to them on a daily basis for EVERY ailment you can possibly think of! Manufacturers of these products would not be advertising in horse magazines if they were not making money. Horses are COMPANION animals & kill buyers do not care where they come from as long as they get their money.EVERYTHING in the horse industry is about money & as long as horses are thought of as just another commodity to be traded there will always be those ready take advantage of the situation. When are the big horse organizations of Canada going to come out against horse slaughter? Equine Canada, Ontario Equestrian Assoc., ect ….where are your voices? Horses need your help…….these organizations are so silent? I have posted on their face book pages and asked if they support horse slaughter & have NEVER been answered! I do not eat COMPANION animals!

    1. I have often wondered about these organizations too. But because they get money from breeders who supply the slaughter pipeline they’ll keep quiet and keep on facilitating slaughter through their silence. You cannot have it both ways. You cannot say that you love horses and support slaughter.

  4. Deborah · ·

    Plain and simple. We are not in f*****g Europe. This is Canada and majority of Canadians don’t eat or believe in eating horsemeat Horses are not raised for food and get it into your thick skulls that all horses are been given some type of drug/medication and it is in the meat. Health Canada states no food producing animal is to be given many antibiotics and BUTE. FDA says 0 that’s zero tolerance for ie: BUTE

    Get your heads out of your ass. I’m sorry if I’m a bit bitchy , actually I’m not. I was just at an auction and not one of those horses deserved to go for meat So EAT that!!!!!!!!!

    1. Deborah · ·

      PS: Go back to F******g Europe

  5. LINDA BADHAM · ·

    IF I HAD A HORSE AND IT HAD TO BE PTS I WOULD NEVER SEND IT AWAY TO BE SLAUGHTERED, I WOULD HAVE TO HAVE IT DONE AT HOME WHERE HE/SHE SPENT HIS LIFE ! IT’S THE SAME AS HAVING MY DOG PTS , I WOULD HAVE TO BE THERE TILL THE END AND THE LAST BREATH WAS TAKEN ! OTHER HORSES WHO ARE NOT PETS I WOULD STILL HAVE TO MAKE SURE THEIR WAS NO SUFFERING AT THE END WHAT SO EVER ! THE BREEDERS WHO REALLY DON’T GIVE A TOSS ABOUT HOW THE HORSES DIE ARE TO BLAME HERE AS IS THE SLAUGHTER HOUSES WHO AT THE END OF A LIFE “SHOULD SHOW COMPASSION ” AS A VET WOULD & SHOULD ! AS ONE OF THE COMMENTS ABOVE MAYBE PEOPLE WHO DO EAT HORSES WILL LEARN THE HARD WAY IF THERE IS DRUGS IN THE MEAT AND BE ILL. HEART, BP, STROKE ALL FROM THE FATS AND STUFF ! I REALLY BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE CAMERAS IN SLAUGHTER HOUSES ANYWAY, THEN MAYBE WHAT EVER THE POOR ANIMALS BEEN SLAUGHTERED IN VIEW OF IT HAPPENING PEOPLE MAY NOT WANT TO EAT ANIMALS ANYWAY ! I DON’T EAT ANYTHING WITH A FACE (THATS MY CHOICE) . I DID WHEN I WAS YOUNG BEACAUSE I WAS RAISED TO EAT MEAT BUT WHEN I REALIZED I WAS EATING AN ANIMAL I STOPPED ! WHO RIGHT WHOS WRONG ! WE HAVE A CHOICE ! AT THE END OF THE DAY IT’S MORE ACCEPTABLE IF HORSES (ALL ANIMALS ) WHERE SLAUGHTERED IN THE KINDEST WAY POSSIBLE ! THAT SHOULD BE LAW !!

  6. Heather · ·

    Well we can only hope that someone falls ill from eating horse meat, then maybe they will start to listen. I have used bute several times and I always have a bottle “just in case” it is needed. On top of that I worm my horses at least twice a year. It states right on the wormer tube not for animals that are being slaughtered for food. If only consumers realized the horrors that all of our food animals endure to end up on our plates, but then I would mean that they would have to care about something!!

    1. 2fasthorses · ·

      Thank you! Mine get de-wormed every 8 weeks and get Bute whenever sore.

  7. shoshone · ·

    I wonder where Dr. Mary Bell practices that she can say bute is “rarely used”. It is the most common drug given to horses similar to aspirin in humans. It is prescribed for every type of pain especially lameness. Bute is readily available by prescription in 225 gram containers. I have a container and I only have two horses. IN reality, I can use it whenever I think it is needed even on a lame cow if I had one.

    Every horse ever handled by man or woman has had phenyalbutazone. The CFIA isn’t to likely to detect much when they only test 1 to 2% of the carcasses.

    1. 2fasthorses · ·

      Ditto…why didn’t they mention wormers which clearly state on the label not intented for use in slaughter?

  8. Wonder how much that dish costs!!

    1. 2fasthorses · ·

      Your health, your life?

