Unemployed Irishman Joe Duffy saves abandoned horses at Holly’s Horse Haven

Published Mar 3, 2012

By Rick Westhead Staff Reporter
 

OMEATH, IRELAND—Joe Duffy set his alarm clock for 2 a.m. It was his first night with his latest “baby.”

Hours earlier, acting on a tip from a neighbour, Duffy, 51, had picked up a chestnut-and-white pony that had been abandoned on the road near his country home here in County Louth, close to the Northern Ireland border.

When Duffy arrived, the pony, which may be four years old, was skin and bones, shaking and tethered to a post.

“I wanted to make sure I got up a few times with him during the night,” Duffy says. “He was so weak he couldn’t stand up on his own. I was trying to get feed into him every few hours.”

Four weeks on, the pony, named Larry, has gained 10 kilograms and has recovered enough to move gingerly around Duffy’s barn on his own.

“He’s a beautiful creature,” Duffy says, smiling. “I think the horse is so elegant.”

Full story here:
http://www.thestar.com/news/world/article/1140191–unemployed-irishman-joe-duffy-saves-abandoned-horses-at-holly-s-horse-haven?bn=1

 

 

6 comments

  1. Jason Ray · ·

    Joe you’re a legend.I wish you,Elaine and all at Holly’s all the very best for doing what ye do to save these animals.I donated to your cause earlier this year-I’m so glad I did and hopefully I will be able to do so again in the future.

  2. Leslie Kuretzky · ·

    What an awesome story

  3. Bill exton · ·

    Hello Joe Duffy
    You are an amazing man What a great heart you have. I have just read your article in our newspaper
    The world needs more people like you .I need your address .

  4. I wish there were more people like Joe Duffy in the world. If you read this, Joe, I wish you and your new friend full and rich lives. God bless you.

  5. WOW!! this should certainly be a man of everyones dreams!! Thank you for having such a big kind heart!!

  6. lindabadham · ·

    I LOVE YOU JOE DUFFY ! LARRY IS BEAUTIFUL AND MAY YOU BOTH HAVE LONG HAPPY HEALTHY LIVES X

