As felt and seen through the eyes of a horse on “the truck”

I don’t understand why I am here. Where is my family and who am I crushed in here next to?  It is so hot and I am so thirsty.  When will we stop?  My legs are aching.  I wish I could lay down.  Why isn’t this truck stopping?  I look outside – we are passing some green pastures -maybe we are going to stop and we can all get off and run through the tall grasses and romp and play.

I remember when I played and my person would call to me and we would spend time together.  She  would brush me and give me hugs and kisses. I would nuzzle her neck with a kiss in return.  I loved that, you know.  She would jump on my back and we would  ride for hours.  She was kind – I don’t know why she sent me away.  I want to go home. 

Where are we going?  Oh, we are slowing down – I think we are  going to finally get off this truck.  Boy, everyone is so nervous and pushing.  The people are mean.  They are hollering at us and hitting us.  We are finally off that truck.  What is that smell?  I am so scared. Where is the green grass and water? I need a drink. Please help me.  Is my family here waiting – i don’t see them.  Everyone is so scared.  Some are too weak to stand.  Some got hurt in the truck. 
Please let me go home—-

Thanks to Tschitani